More from this show

On this episode of Arizona Encore, musicians in Scottsdale and Tempe take us inside the emotionally complex musical world of Johannes Brahms.

As a child, pianist Garrick Ohlsson said he was only interested in really fast music. The kind of piano fireworks that might be suited for the Guinness Book of Records. However, with age and experience, he grew more and more fascinated by the music of Johannes Brahms. This was a composer who was entirely capable of writing fiery, fast music, but Ohlsson said he discovered there were actually whole galaxies of emotions between the notes of Brahms’ slower tempo piano works.

We’ll explore those rich Piano Intermezzos Op. 118 with Ohlsson in concert in Scottsdale, then we’ll join the ASU Herberger String Quartet to enjoy one of Brahms’ most famous compositions: his String Quartet Op. 51 No. 2.

Brahms - Six pieces, Op. 118 - Garrick Ohlsson, piano

I. Intermezzo in A Minor

II. Intermezzo in A Major

III. Ballade in G Minor

IV. Intermezzo in F Minor

V. Romanze in F Major

VI. Intermezzo in E-flat Minor

Brahms - String Quartet Op. 51, No. 2 in A Minor - ASU Herberger String Quartet

I. Allegro non troppo

II. Andante moderato

III. Quasi Minuetto, moderato

IV. Finale. Allegro non assai

A cactus blooms in the Sonoran Desert
aired Feb. 28

Desert Dreams: Celebrating Five Seasons in the Sonoran Desert

A cute little duckling with text reading: Arizona PBS Ducks in a Row Event
March 6

Getting Your Ducks in a Row to Avoid Conflict When You Are Gone

Barry Gibb singing (Bee Gees: In Our Own Time)
aired Feb. 24

Bee Gees: In Our Own Time

Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings, Kris Kristofferson and Willie Nelson
aired Feb. 23

The Highwaymen: Live at Nassau Coliseum

Subscribe to Arizona PBS Newsletters

STAY in touch

Subscribe to Arizona PBS Newsletters: