Emmy statuette

Arizona PBS, Cronkite win Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards

More from pressroom

Arizona PBS and the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University won a total of 10 Emmys® and Student Production Awards at the 2022 Rocky Mountain Emmy® Awards.

Arizona PBS won two Emmys® for “Check Please Arizona” in the Interview/Discussion category and “From Edge to Hope – Jake Runestad: Earth Symphony (“Choral”) – World Premiere, Arizona PBS” in the Musical Composition/Arrangement category.

In the college contest, Cronkite students took home eight Student Production Awards in seven categories. Students’ work covered topics such as the theft and vandalism of beehives, eating disorders, weather and sustainability, news and sports.

“Our students and professionals have dedicated themselves to producing quality journalism that engages the community. I’m extremely proud of the accomplishments of the Cronkite School and Arizona PBS, and their continued devotion to Arizonans,” said Cronkite School Dean Dr. Battinto L. Batts Jr.

The awards ceremony also honored retired Cronkite School Professor John Craft with the Governors’ Award. The award recognizes an individual or television station for their achievements in the television industry, as well as their community impact. Craft retired from the Cronkite School last spring after serving the school for 49 years.

“These awards highlight our commitment to producing content that connects our entire audience. I’m proud of our award recipients for their continued hard work and dedication to serving our viewers and the wider community,” said Ebonye Delaney, senior director and content officer for Arizona PBS.

The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences honors the art and science of individuals working in television with Emmy® Awards, and covers the regions of Arizona, New Mexico, Utah and southeastern California.

The 2022 Rocky Mountain Emmy® Awards were held on Oct. 1. Arizona PBS and Cronkite School winners are:

Check Please Arizona: PBS Picks
Arizona PBS

  • Melissa Thompson, Series Producer
  • Shana Fischer, Series Producer
  • Mark Tarbell, Host
  • Ebonye Delaney, Executive Producer
  • Scot Olson, Editor
  • Juan Magaña, Photograher

From Edge to Hope – Jake Runestad: Earth Symphony (“Choral”) – World Premiere
Arizona PBS, True Concord Voices and Orchestra

  • Jake Runestad, Composer

Student Production Awards

College News Report – Serious or Light

Eating Disorders Increase” 

  • Faith Abercrombie

College Multimedia Journalist “Bee Theft

  • Karen Marroquin

College Video Essay “Documentary: Hope Coach Drivers

  • Miles Green

College Public Affairs / Community Service: 

“Case By Case” 

  • Kamilah Williams 

College Sports Story or Segment 

“Xavier Prep Softball Dedication” 

  • Benjamin Garcia 

College Sports Story or Segment “Athletes in Conflict” 

  • Zach Larson 
  • Ryan Blank 
  • Conor McGill 
  • Ike Everard 
  • Austin Ford

College Sports Program “Cronkite Sports Report” 

  • Ike Everard 

College Talent – News or Sports Weather and Sustainability Reporter

  • Evan Lis

Explore all Arizona PBS’ 2022 Emmy-nominated programs

Tito Munoz conducting the Phoenix Symphony
airs Sept. 25

Opening Night: A Romantic Evening

A ferris wheel at a state fair in the evening

See Fairytales on Ice: Beauty and the Beast at the Arizona State Fair

A green monster with a goofy grin holds a large toothbrush. Text: HealthySmileLearning.org Video Contest: How does your favorite monster brush its teeth?
Oct. 8

Digital Video Contest 2023

Sports Fundamentals image

Athletic Coaching Essentials (ACE) Beginner Series

Subscribe to Arizona PBS Newsletters

STAY in touch
with azpbs.org!

Subscribe to Arizona PBS Newsletters: