Emmy statuette

Arizona PBS, Cronkite earn Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards

More from pressroom

Arizona PBS and the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University swept up a total of 10 Emmys® and Student Production Awards at the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences — in professional categories ranging from arts and entertainment to politics and government as well as student categories ranging from newscasts to sports.

Arizona PBS took home three Emmys®, including one in the Technology category for “Catalyst” and one in the Interview/Discussion category for “Plate & Pour.”  Watch Arizona PBS’ Emmy winning programs here.

The “2020 Arizona Senate Debate,” one of Arizona PBS’ most-viewed programs in the station’s history, won in the Politics/Government Content category. During the debate, the moderators — particularly Ted Simons of “Arizona Horizon” — were praised for their questions and persistence.

Students at Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication earned seven Student Production Awards in six categories this year. The awards recognize the best in collegiate journalism, and since 2009, Cronkite students have won 71 Student Production Awards.

Arizona State University also won an award for Branded Content: Short Form with “Innovation at ASU.”

“I am extremely proud of the performance of the Cronkite School and Arizona PBS in the Emmys competition,” said Cronkite School Dean Battinto L. Batts Jr. “Our success is due to the work of many talented students and professionals who have dedicated themselves to the cause of journalism. It is a privilege to be able to celebrate their achievements this evening.”

“I couldn’t be prouder of the Arizona PBS team Rocky Mountain Emmy Award winners,” said Adrienne Fairwell, general manager of Arizona PBS. “The award recipients, and those nominated, should be applauded as their work is a true testament to their dedication to Arizonans. This team worked hard during the pandemic of 2020 to produce content that was entertaining, educational and informative. We are very proud to be our communities’ Arizona connection.”

The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences honors the art and science of individuals working in television with Emmy® Awards, and covers the regions of Arizona, New Mexico, Utah and southeastern California.

The 44th Annual Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards were held at the Phoenician in Scottsdale. Arizona PBS and Cronkite School winners are:

Arizona PBS

Technology: Long Form Content

Catalyst: Isotopes, Migrants & Mysteries
Steve Filmer, Producer
Vanessa Ruiz, Producer

Politics/Government: Long Form Content

2020 Arizona Senate Debate
Allysa Adams, Producer
Ted Simons, Host
Lorraine Rivera, Host
Yvonne Wingett Sanchez, Host
Mike Sauceda, Producer
Laarni Fernandez Nuez, Producer
Shana Fischer, Producer

Interview/Discussion Content

Plate & Pour: Pass It On
Margery Punnett, Series Producer
Melissa Thompson, Executive Producer
Rebecca Guldberg, Producer
Mark Tarbell, Producer

Arizona State University

Branded Content: Short Form

Innovation at ASU
Joshua Belveal, director / writer / editor / motion graphics
Amy Chou, producer
Safwat Saleem, producer / writer

Cronkite School Student Production Awards


Cronkite News March 23, 2021
Angel Jimenez, Producer

Multimedia Journalist

FilmBar Saved
Tyler Manion, Reporter

Video Essay

A Mother’s Journey
Franco LaTona, Reporter

Non-Fiction Short Form

Gender Pioneer in Arizona
Tyler Manion, Reporter

Sports Story or Segment

Seated Golfer Prepares for U.S. Disabled Open
Jordan Spurgeon, Reporter

A Sunrise Prayer on Piestewa Peak
Sarandon Raboin, Reporter

Talent: News or Sports

Zachary Keenan, Reporter

Illustration of columns of a capitol building with text reading: Arizona PBS AZ Votes 2024

Arizona PBS presents candidate debates

An armed forces bugler playing the trumpet in front of the United States Capitol building.
aired May 26

National Memorial Day Concert 2024

Graphic for the AZPBS kids LEARN! Writing Contest with a child sitting in a chair writing on a table and text reading: The Ultimate Field Trip
May 26

Submit your entry for the 2024 Writing Contest

Rachel Khong
May 29

Join us for PBS Books Readers Club!

Subscribe to Arizona PBS Newsletters

STAY in touch
with azpbs.org!

Subscribe to Arizona PBS Newsletters: