Arizona PBS, Cronkite School Capture Rocky Mountain Emmy Nominations

More from pressroom

Aug. 22, 2018

Arizona PBS received 13 Emmy nominations from the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, while Arizona State University students from the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication dominated the intercollegiate contest with 16 nominations.

Arizona PBS took home nominations across a variety of categories and stories for local shows such as “Arizona Horizon” and “Check, Please! Arizona.” Nominations included categories ranging from program specials to lighting and sound editing. Twelve Arizona PBS staff members received nominations.

“I couldn’t be prouder of our commitment to telling stories that foster lifelong learning and community engagement,” said Arizona PBS General Manager Mary Mazur. “We are so thrilled to be recognized for the hard work and dedication demonstrated daily by our staff and students.”

The Cronkite School, home of Arizona PBS, captured more Student Production Award nominations than any other school. Cronkite students received one-third of the student competition’s 47 total nominations among colleges.

The Student Production Awards annually represent the best in collegiate and high school journalism. Since 2009, the Cronkite School has won 42 Student Production Awards, the most of any school in the region.

Cronkite student Lillian Donahue received five nominations – two in Short Form Non-Fiction, two in Public Affairs/Community Service and one in News General Assignment Reporting – the most of any student nominee. Fellow students Courtney Malla, Blaine McCormick, Maya Patrose and Marissa Roper all received two nominations.

“Receiving 29 nominations between the Cronkite School and Arizona PBS is a testament to the dedication of our outstanding students, faculty and staff,” said Cronkite School Dean and Arizona PBS CEO Christopher Callahan. “We look forward to attending the awards celebration next month.”

The Rocky Mountain Emmy and Student Production Award winners will be announced during the 41st annual Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards celebration Sept. 22 in Phoenix.

Last year, Arizona PBS took home six awards, while the Cronkite School won seven of 14 total nominations. Arizona PBS also won the Governors’ Award for Educational Outreach – the highest honor awarded by the NATAS Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter. Ted Simons, the managing editor and host of “Arizona Horizon,” was inducted into the Silver Circle Society.

NATAS is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. The Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter represents Arizona, New Mexico, Utah and El Centro, California.

For a complete list of nominees and categories, please visit the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter website at

Arizona PBS Rocky Mountain Emmy Nominations

Historic/Cultural-News Single Story/Series/Feature/Program Segment

Allysa Adams, “Arizona Horizon: Carver School,” Arizona PBS

Allysa Adams, “Arizona Horizon: Morenci 9,” Arizona PBS

Politics/Government – Program Special

Allysa Adams, Mike Sauceda and Laarni Fernandez Nuez, “Arizona PBS, Arizona Horizon/Horizonte: NAFTA Special,” Arizona PBS


Nancy Southgate, Margery Punnett, Henry Brodersen, Alexander Kline and Suzanne Guery, “Arizona Collectibles,” Arizona PBS

Interview/Discussion – Program/Special or Series

Nancy Southgate, Margery Punnett and Suzanne Guery, “Check, Please! Arizona #808,” Arizona PBS

Promotion Program – Single Spot or Image

Margery Punnett and Alexander Kline, “Long Lead New Show Promo,” Arizona PBS

Audio-Live or Post Production

Alex Kosiorek and David Angell “Jason Vieaux Performs Bach: Lute Suite No. 3 in E minor, BWV 996: Courante,” Arizona PBS

Eric Xu, “Phoenix Chorale Performs Silent Night,” Arizona PBS

Eric Xu and David Angell, “Phoenix Children’s Chorus Performs Sing We Now of Christmas,” Arizona PBS

Editor – Program (Non-News)

Alex Kline, Arizona PBS

Lighting – Location or Studio

Alex Kline, Arizona PBS

Scot Olson, Arizona PBS

Writer (News)

Allysa Adams, Arizona PBS

2018 College Student Production Award Nominees


Maya Patrose, Izzy Greenblat and Holly Ratner, Cronkite News (Nov. 16, 2017)

Azucena Martinez, Haley Brand and Kevyn Gessner, Cronkite News (March 14, 2018)

Haley Brand, Olivia Anderson, Azucena Martinez, Demitria Pilatos, Kevyn Gessner, Courtney Mally, Alessandra Luckey and Ann Marie Schlup, “Full Circle”

General Assignment News

Lillian Donahue, “Aid Groups Caught in Border Battle,” Cronkite News

Nicole Gutierrez, “AZDPS Unmarked Cars,” Cronkite News

Short Form Non-Fiction

Lillian Donahue, “The Duncan Dancers, a Family Affair,” Cronkite News

Lillian Donahue, “Native American Starts Her Dream Company,” Cronkite News

Amanda Mason, “Puerto Rico Recovery Six Months After Maria,” Cronkite News

Maya Patrose, Courtney Mally and Marissa Roper, “Concrete Change,” Cronkite Documentary Course

Public Affairs/Community Service

Lillian Donahue, “Artistic Performance Unites Nations,” Cronkite News

Lillian Donahue, “Hands, Heart and Feet,” Cronkite News

Claire Caulfield, Jenna Miller, Michael M. Santiago, Jasmine Spearing-Bowen, Adrienne St. Clair, Nicole Tyau, Brandon Kitchin, Corinne Roels, Karl Schneider and Briana Smith, “Troubled Water,” Carnegie-Knight News21


Blaine McCormick, “Blaine McCormick – Stories Within Baseball”

Tyler Paley: “DACA Boxer,” Cronkite News

Craft Talent

Blaine McCormick, Cronkite News

Tyler Fingert, Cronkite News

Illustration of columns of a capitol building with text reading: Arizona PBS AZ Votes 2024

Arizona PBS presents candidate debates

An armed forces bugler playing the trumpet in front of the United States Capitol building.
airs May 26

National Memorial Day Concert 2024

Graphic for the AZPBS kids LEARN! Writing Contest with a child sitting in a chair writing on a table and text reading: The Ultimate Field Trip
May 26

Submit your entry for the 2024 Writing Contest

Rachel Khong
May 29

Join us for PBS Books Readers Club!

Subscribe to Arizona PBS Newsletters

STAY in touch

Subscribe to Arizona PBS Newsletters: