Malt Shop Memories: The Concert

More from pressroom



– The Songs That Make You Feel Young Again –

It was a time of record hops, cars with big fins, ponytails and beehives. The future was bright and the music on the radio and jukeboxes became the soundtrack for the rest of your life. Recorded at Caesars in Atlantic City, Malt Shop Memories: The Concert brings together 12 of the greatest living legends from the late 1950s and early 60s and their phenomenal music for one fantastic evening. Hosted by Frankie Avalon, Bobby Rydell and Fabian, who also perform their greatest hits, Malt Shop Memories: The Concert airs Sunday, August 7, 2011 at 7 p.m. on Eight.

Filled with music that makes you feel good and makes you smile, Malt Shop Memories takes you back to a simpler more innocent time — when it was all about the cars, the clothes, dances, old friends and all those great memories. Lifestyle footage from this wonderful era of creative songwriting and memorable vocal performances is included, along with archival performance footage from The Four Seasons, Martha and The Vandellas, The Beach Boys and Dion and The Belmonts.

Featured songs and performers include:

• “So Much in Love” – The Tymes

• “Call Me” – Chris Montez

• “Let's Dance” – Chris Montez

• “Big Girls Don't Cry” – Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons

(archival performance clip)

• “There Goes My Baby” – Charlie Thomas and The Drifters

• “Under the Boardwalk” – Charlie Thomas and The Drifters

• “Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polka Dot Bikini” – Brian Hyland

• “Sealed with a Kiss” – Brian Hyland

• “Dancing in the Street” – Martha & The Vandellas (archival performance clip)

• “My Boyfriend's Back” – The Angels®

• “Bobby Sox to Stockings” – Frankie Avalon

• “Why” – Frankie Avalon

• “Venus” – Frankie Avalon

• “Since I Fell for You” – Lenny Welch

• “Turn Me Loose” – Fabian

• “Tiger” – Fabian

• “A Teenager in Love” – Dion and The Belmonts (archival performance clip)

• “Wild One” – Bobby Rydell

• “Wildwood Days” – Bobby Rydell

• “Volare” – Bobby Rydell

• “It's My Party” – Lesley Gore

• “You Don't Own Me” – Lesley Gore

• “I Get Around” – The Beach Boys (archival performance clip)

• “I Will Follow Him” – Little Peggy March

• “I'm on the Outside (Looking In)” – Little Anthony and The Imperials®

• “Goin' Out of My Head” – Little Anthony and The Imperials®

Illustration of columns of a capitol building with text reading: Arizona PBS AZ Votes 2024

Arizona PBS presents candidate debates

An armed forces bugler playing the trumpet in front of the United States Capitol building.
airs May 26

National Memorial Day Concert 2024

Graphic for the AZPBS kids LEARN! Writing Contest with a child sitting in a chair writing on a table and text reading: The Ultimate Field Trip
May 26

Submit your entry for the 2024 Writing Contest

Rachel Khong
May 29

Join us for PBS Books Readers Club!

Subscribe to Arizona PBS Newsletters

STAY in touch

Subscribe to Arizona PBS Newsletters: